30,008 words down in just under two weeks so I am slightly ahead of the curve. In the grand tradition of the affectionately named vomit draft the story is all over the place - but that’s OK, it’s meant to be.

You can’t get out backwards. You’ve gotta go forwards to go backwards - Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory.

By now in previous attempts, I’ve given up. The story isn’t good enough, I’m refining words written in previous days and not progressing forwards. This year, I’m sticking to the mantra of moving ever forwards, even if I have to drag the words out and kick the story down the proverbial road. I’ll be honest, the last two days have been hell. I think I’ve peaked too early with a dramatic scene, but I’m keeping it in and ramping up the drama from here. That’s my challenge because safe is boring. Put characters through hell, that’s what readers want to see.

How am I going to do that? Absolutely no idea, to be honest.

Am I worried? Absolutely. I know my ending, but I’m not sure how to sustain another 20,000 words to get there. Truthfully, I think there are scenes still to be written in and among those already typed. If I come-up short, I’ll still get to those 50,000 words.

I’m surprising myself with a lot of ideas and dialogue that are exposing character traits that didn’t occur in the, frankly, chaotic planning I did beforehand. I think if, no, when I do this again I will plan more thoroughly.

All in all, I’m happy.